---
title: "Reactivate a deleted node"
description: "Bring back a deleted node with its history, without adding it again."
product: "Guardian"
edition: "Classic"
type: "workflow"
url: "https://docs.cloudhouse.com/guardian/classic/inventory/add-nodes/reactivate-deleted-node/"
---
# Reactivate a deleted node

If you previously deleted a node and would like to reinstate it to your Guardian instance without having to re-add, scan, and configure the node from scratch - you can use the reactivate feature. When a node is reactivated, it is restored to its previous state prior to the deletion. Any node scan results, scheduled job runs, benchmarks and policies are automatically re-applied.

Applies to: `Guardian Classic`

!!! tip

    This feature was introduced in V3.56.0 of the Guardian web application. For more information, see [June 2025 Monthly Release](https://docs.cloudhouse.com/guardian/classic/what-s-new/2-previous-release/2025/monthly/june-2025/index.md).

![Reactivate](https://docs.cloudhouse.com/guardian/classic/assets/images/guardian/whats-new/2025/june/reactivate.png)

When a node is deleted, a 'Node Deleted' event is logged in the **Events** tab (**Control** > **Events**). Within the event's details, the `node_id` field is displayed. You can use the node ID to locate your deleted node and reactivate it, see below for more information.

!!! tip

    The `node_id` field was added to every 'Node Deleted' event in V3.56.0 of the Guardian web application onwards. To reactivate a node that was deleted prior to this release, you can find the `node_id` in a 'Node Updated' event in lieu.

**To reactivate a deleted node, complete the following steps**:

1. In the **Events** tab, locate the 'Node Deleted' event and click the row to expand the event details and access the `node_id` field.

    ![Node deleted event](https://docs.cloudhouse.com/guardian/classic/assets/images/guardian/whats-new/2025/june/node-deleted-event.png)

2. Click the `node_id` field to display the results of the deleted node's most recent scan.

    ![Reactivate](https://docs.cloudhouse.com/guardian/classic/assets/images/guardian/whats-new/2025/june/reactivate.png)

3. On the node scan results page, click the **Reactivate** button to re-add the node to your Guardian instance.

The node is then added back to your Guardian instance. There is no limit on how long you can wait to reactivate a node. Any previously applied policies, scheduled jobs, etc. are automatically reinstated, alongside any scan data.

!!! tip

    Additionally, you can reactivate a node that was deleted prior to V3.56.0 of Guardian by adding a new node (or agent node) with the same node name, details, and external ID as the previously deleted node. If the details in the new node match a previously deleted node, the node data is reinstated, alongside any previously applied policies, scheduled jobs, etc.
